I know this is an old post, but since there's a discussion going on about this in the WGC group on Fecebook, I thought it would be worth to mention that you forgot about Holoprojector units and those with access to Impersonation (also via Cybermask). So, you're saying my Kotails are now capable to Surprise Shoot a TAG with E/M Grenades and it would be forced to Dodge on -12?
By virtue of this weird interaction/FAQ stuff... Does this also enable the new Scottish/Russian dude, McManus, to declare Assault from a camo state and still impose a -6 mod as Surprise Attack?
Surprise Shot is a short skill.... Surprise Attack is a short skill.... Intuitive Attack and Speculative Shot are long skills... are you guys trying to argue that you can somehow combined separate actions into some sort of hybrid monster action?
Suprise is a modifier to BS attacks, you can apply it to Speculative fire This has already been answered before; http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/36871-suprise-spec-fire/ http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/...-label-and-coordinated-orders/#comment-688859 So you can combine Spec Shot and Surprise Shot To me the same understanding solkan refers to applies to Suprise attack
OK, fair enough, i get the argument that "BS Attack" refers to any skill that has the "BS Attack" label, not just the skill called "BS Attack". *sigh* Seriously tho. Thats just asking for confusion.
It's why I'm with @Todd that's it's RAW to Co-ord a Surprise Shot Total Control and a BS Attack with Missile Launcher (assuming that there an EVO). However, it's a complete exploit because of the way Surprise Shot is written as a Short Skill but applied as a MOD. So you shouldn't do it.
I don’t think it’s wonky (and I think there’s plenty of things that are wonky in the Infinity rules). It’s an order of operations issue. Spend an Order, Activate a model, Declare a skill. If what you want to do IS a skill, you’ve got to declare it. Once you declare a skill, if the rules for that skill let you do a different skill, or part of a different skill, you clearly don’t have to declare that. You get a Short Movement Skill and a Short Skill (or a second Short Movement Skill). You must declare a skill to do anything in this game. I think those mechanics are straightforward.
more precisely it refer to the skill called "BS Attack" and also any skill that has a label by any name where the label's Effect reads : "The use of this Special Skill or piece of Equipment is a form of BS Attack." or in other word it refers the BS Attack skill in any of its form. What is confusing is that the label's chosen name is the as a skill name. If the label name was "This is a BS Attack" or "BS Attack substitute" it might have been more clear. OTOH, it is also clear if you read the effect of the label.