Reactive Trooper engages - Active Trooper dodges

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por Commoner1, 18 Sep 2018.

  1. Commoner1

    Commoner1 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    202
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    373
    An active trooper moves with his first short skill into the 2" proximity of the reactive trooper. The reactive trooper declares engage as his ARO. The active trooper declares a dodge as his second skill. What are the possible outcomes?
     
  2. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    Engage success (win the FtF roll): Reactive troop ends base to base with Active troop where Active players prefers.

    Dodge success (win the FtF roll) or Engage fail: Reactive troop stay where it was and active troop end where active player said on first half order.

    Remember Line of Fire is needed to Engage, and doing Engage lets the Active player declare CC atack too.


    Ps. Sorry my bad english!

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
    A Hecaton y DukeofEarl les gusta esto.
  3. Commoner1

    Commoner1 Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    202
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    373
    Are you sure? Look at the wording of Dodge. But my first response was exactly like yours when a mate asked that question.
     
    A pakohbadajoz le gusta esto.
  4. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    So Engage is a Movement not an Atack... You said it, right?

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
    A Commoner1 le gusta esto.
  5. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    Spanish version is without "atack" word. "All AROs generated by active trooper".

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
    A Commoner1 le gusta esto.
  6. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    914
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    755
    I'd say the active player dodge does nothing for him in this situation. If the reactive player's engage success he will engage.
    The rules say that only a FtF attack can cancel engage, and also Dodge state that it defend from attacks and Engage is a movement ARO.
     
    A BLOODGOD, Commoner1 y Mahtamori les gusta esto.
  7. Niebieskooki

    Niebieskooki Blue Sun Lieutenant

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    152
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    118
    And what if dodging player decides to move back additional 2-4 inches? Engaging trooper does 4-6 inches engage? This does not make sense to me whatsoever. It has to be ftf roll.
     
  8. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    This.
    Dodge is only capable of producing an FTF against enemy attacks. Engage is not an attack (it is, in fact, a Dodge effect as well).
    Engage is not a specified movement, instead as its effect the opponent places the engaging model in base to base with the enemy trooper. So the active model would Move further, then in resolution if the engaging model succeeds the normal roll it will be placed in base to base with the active model's final position.

    Please note, there is no upper limit to the distance an engaging model may move, the only constraint is that the active model is at any point in the order within Engage distance (which is the same as Dodge's movement distance, i.e. 2" modified by Kinematica) at any point during the order.
     
    inane.imp, Gunmage, Commoner1 y 3 otros les gusta esto.
  9. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    There are no limits on how far the trooper declaring Engage can end up getting moved, just that the active trooper was in range at some point. The extreme case is declaring Engage against a trooper on a Bike, who then declares another Move.

    EDIT - explained better by @Mahtamori...
     
    A Commoner1 le gusta esto.
  10. Nemo No Name

    Nemo No Name Aleph Cultural Atache

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    2.179
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    2.846
    First of all, if you succeed at Dodge in your Active turn, you do not get to move.

    Second, if active player moves its figure, and Engage is successful, the reactive model will be moved into contact however far the two models end up being. Active player will place it in base-to-base contact anywhere around his base.
     
    A paraelix le gusta esto.
  11. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    914
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    755
    You can do this now with engage. If you engage, the active player places you in b2b at the end of its movement (at the end of the order).

    So if you engage an aragoto (mov 8-6) for example, the dude may decide to troll you and instead of attacking he can drive 14 inches to introduce you some bushi friends!

    Edit: triple ninjed! :see_no_evil:
     
    A pedrogzc y Mahtamori les gusta esto.
  12. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    Ive been asking, and it is NOT a FtF roll, sorry.

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
  13. ijw

    ijw Ian Wood aka the Wargaming Trader. Rules & Wiki
    Infinity Rules Staff Warcor

    Registrado:
    25 Abr 2017
    Mensajes:
    7.353
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    14.845
    No, because there's no way for what is effectively Dodge vs Dodge to be a Face to Face Roll. Neither player is affecting the other player, or the other player's action.
     
    A inane.imp, Commoner1 y Ogid les gusta esto.
  14. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    914
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    755
    Don't be! Now you are one rule wiser ;)
     
  15. pakohbadajoz

    pakohbadajoz Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    156
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    67
    No, im a crazy RAW player. But i like to ask to people who has been playing for more time than me

    <br>Una ranita iba caminando...
     
    #15 pakohbadajoz, 19 Sep 2018
    Última edición: 20 Sep 2018
    A pedrogzc le gusta esto.
  16. eciu

    eciu Easter worshiper

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    4.018
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    4.681
    You are new here ?;)

    Engage can create some hilarious results if "trooper who is being engaged" decide to move with his 2nd short skill.

    This is the only way to fit a TAG into Armory xD
     
    A pakohbadajoz le gusta esto.
  17. Ogid

    Ogid Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    10 Sep 2018
    Mensajes:
    914
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    755
    As long as you don't use the RAW to abuse holes in the rules those 2 are really good ways to improve as a player. But always contrast the answers, sometimes people get some rules wrong, then teach others and then you have a lot of people playing a completely different game.

    Yes, that's one of the things I don't like about Engage, the active player controling the placement of the reactive player may lead to some nasty outcomes that should be restricted a bit more IMO. Putting a TAG inside the Armory is one of them and btw, is still legal placing the engaging player in the wall?
     
  18. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Yes. it's legal.
     
    A Ogid le gusta esto.
  19. clever handle

    clever handle Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    3 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    207
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    227
    but then you'd be that guy. And do you really want to be that guy?
     
  20. FatherKnowsBest

    FatherKnowsBest Red Knight of Curmudgeon

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    355
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    635
    I've never liked Wil Wheaton.
     
    A ev0k le gusta esto.
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation