I realized the other day that I've been playing wrong and that camo markers can't make a surprise shot in the reactionary turn, and now looking at the rules more carefully, I'm not even sure that they can make AROs at all. Can they?
Camo markers are not prohibited from declaring skills. They just lose the marker state if they declare a skill that requires a die roll. Surprise Shot is a Short Skill. It does not have the ARO label, so it cannot be used as an ARO. But you could BS attack, Dodge, Engage, or use any other skill with the ARO label.
Yeah, the fake markers obviously can't, they don't have a dude in them to make the shot, but for a real person, he can pop out of camo and shoot, as an ARO, he just doesn't get the surprise shot bonus unless it's my turn, right?
Doesn’t get the surprise shot bonus because it can’t declare Surprise Shot—it’s a non-ARO skill. Unlike the previous edition when that modifier was a side effect of attacking while camo’d. Granted, about the only time it would matter is if you were deliberately trying to get the camo model killed. For instance, you’ve taken control of an enemy Cutter that you’re trying to force the other player to kill off.