from the wiki: Upon a successful Discover Roll, the Impersonator enters the Impersonation-2 state. To represent this, replace the Impersonation-1 Marker with an Impersonation-2 Marker (IMP-2). If an enemy fails his Discover Roll, that enemy cannot attempt to Discover the same impersonator until the next (Active or Reactive) Turn. The Impersonator ist the trooper with the skill Impersonation and can enter 2 different states, represented by by two distinct markers. As the texte explicitly mentions the Impersonator, not the markers. Since discover is a skill that can be applied to multiple sorts of markers, I would go with the specific rules for the specific marker, as these rules might alter/modify the skill. If something is written this clear, I would strongly go with the exact wording.
You forget one thing : this come with the impersonation-1 status. Once impersonation-1 is canceled (and replace by 2), all effect that goes with it (like the one you are quoting) are cancelled.
There are individual entries of both of those effects in both the Impersonation-1 and Impersonation-2 state descriptions. You would trigger the effect of failing a discover roll on IMP-1, but the state that caused it isn't on the field anymore. The state that is on the field the next order (IMP-2) now hasn't had a discover attempt performed against it, so you couldn't have passed or failed, so discover is a legal declaration.
the same impersonator yes, but one that is no longer in the state that you are referring to and therefore the rules you are referring to do not come into play
https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http...KS8WgbX4PyeH-bz23qyI-CFYS-Bzds7sNcR12zVpe3Ejy For clarrity, The IMP-1/IMP-2 failed discover thing carries across the 2 marker states according ot @ijw
@ijw how? When 2 successful Discovers from a Discover-Discover vs an IMP-1 doesn't? Either they're the same marker or they're not. Edit: @daboarder you're misinterpreting that thread. This interpretation is completely consistent with the @Palanka post that closes the thread:
" If an enemy fails his Discover Roll, that enemy cannot attempt to Discover the same impersonator until the next (Active or Reactive) Turn." Impersonator, not impersonation marker.