Warning and HD

Tema en 'ITS' iniciado por dlfleetw, 8 Ago 2018.

  1. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    Interesting interaction came up last night: Can a model in HD use Warning?

    My initial thought would be no, but that is pure gut reaction.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.697
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.694
    On what purpose? Just to be placed on the table (as a TO Marker, i suppose)?
     
  3. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    Yep
     
  4. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.697
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.694
    If you fulfill the requirements, i'd say yes.
    And not being in the list that reveal the marker, you simply place the marker.

    BTW, the only effect I can see is being able to add the order to the pool, am i missing other intent?
     
  5. snakenborg

    snakenborg Active Member

    Registrado:
    29 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    15
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    27
    Sadly no.

    » If the Hidden Deployment trooper declares Cautious Movement or any other Short Movement Skill that does not require a Roll (except Alert), then his state of Hidden Deployment is Cancelled. Place a TO Camouflage Marker (TO CAMO) in the position you wrote down during the Deployment Phase.

    » If the trooper declares a Skill or Entire Order other than those previously mentioned, the Hidden Deployment state is also Cancelled. In that case, place the model that represents the trooper in the position you wrote down, facing in the direction of your choice.

    I bolded the important parts.
     
  6. tox

    tox SorriBarai
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    21 Feb 2017
    Mensajes:
    3.697
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.694
    A Robock le gusta esto.
  7. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.246
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    858
    I'm not sure it (the warning rule, subsection of combat damage) trigger any cancellation clauses. The resulting spin is an automatic movement, but HD is only cancelled on declaration of skills.

    So you can do the spin movement, and somehow note it down on the paper as there was no effect asking you to place either the marker or the figure on the table. As both effect refers to declared skills.
     
    A inane.imp le gusta esto.
  8. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    I'm on board with it not satisfyingly and Cancellation clause lf HD but as written warning doesn't cancel Supression fire either so....
     
  9. snakenborg

    snakenborg Active Member

    Registrado:
    29 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    15
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    27
    Sorry, I misread warning intro Alert. My bad.

    When you are in HD you have no zone of control if I’m not mistaken. Therefore you can’t use the warning rule.
     
  10. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.246
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    858
    good point. Supp fire state doesn't even have a Movement triggered cancellation clause (only on declaring Order and ARO) yet is cancelled on guts movement. Which, just like Warning, is a rule from combat damage subsections that does not involve declaring anything.
    In that case, we should count the spin automatic movement as a declaration of movement (ie. place the camo marker on the table).
     
  11. Robock

    Robock Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    24 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    1.246
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    858
    if you don't have a ZoC then you are not allowed to declare any ARO that triggers on ZoC. It might even be a benefit as you can declare an Engaged on the second short move because the first move could not force you to declare a Change Facing. But IMO you do still have a ZoC while HD, you also have a LoF.
     
  12. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    @ijw

    Just noticed I posted this in the ITS side too.

    Thanks all for the responses so far
     
  13. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Is the HD trooper (A) inside the ZOC of the Trooper (B) who suffered the attack?

    If instead that Trooper (B) was an enemy who'd just executed a Cautious Move would the HD trooper (A) be inside the Trooper's (B) ZOC? No they aren't.

    A: HD troopers don't have ZOC because they're not present on the table so they can't really be inside the ZOC of Troopers on the table.

    HD Troopers do not get to Warning.

    Edit: my bad, Cautious Move writes ZOC from the POV of the enemy. Consequently it's apparent that HD Troopers don't have ZOC, but declaring an ARO places them on the table at which point they gain ZOC (measured at resolution, so will result in a valid ARO if the active Trooper with was inside it).

    @psychoticstorm please move to Rules forum
     
    #13 inane.imp, 24 Ago 2018
    Última edición: 24 Ago 2018
  14. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    Since when does Warning cancel Suppression Fire? Have I missed something?
     
  15. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    Come again?
     
  16. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    I thought you were implying that Warning cancelled Suppression Fire?

    My question is: since when?
     
  17. dlfleetw

    dlfleetw Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2017
    Mensajes:
    305
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    326
    I said it doesn't
     
  18. inane.imp

    inane.imp Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Ene 2018
    Mensajes:
    6.040
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    7.179
    I misunderstood. I thought you were saying "RAW it doesn't but we all know how that turned out".
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation