I'm having several questions about kuang shi and explode. There were several topics about it, but answers were different. So i want to end this and got a clean answer. Example 1 In active turn kuang shi comes in lof of 2 enemy models. One within explode range, and one out of it. The first one declares dodge and passes it but hasn't enough move to dodge out of explode range, the second one score a hit on kuang shi. Kuang shi failles armor-roll and explodes. Will explode hit the first target, which has passed the dodge roll, but still in range? Example 2 KCD Celestial decided to activate explode on kuang shi. Enemy model stands near kuang shi, but to doesn't have a LoF to CG. Can it dodge? And can i activate explode on kuangshi, which in dogged state?
Example 1: This is not an answer, only theorizing. I think the effects of Dodge has already been applied so it can't be used to avoid the Explode skill. I think you may have read a few answers from N2 edition. Example 2: Detonate Kuang Shi special skill has an example covering this. Yes, they get to Dodge and it will be as if attacked by enemy outside of LOF so PH-3. I don't see anything in the rules that would Dogged to cancel the Explode skill if activated through the Control Device - unlike the Biolocator device. Detonate Kuang Shi Game Example A Celestial Guard with a Kuang Shi Control Device spends one Entire Order and declares Detonate Kuang Shi. As his Combat Group contains two Kuang Shi, the Celestial Guard activates the Explode L1 Special Skill of both troopers. The player places the Circular Template over each of them and finds that each template affects two enemy troopers. As none of them has LoF to the Celestial Guard they must declare a PH-3 Normal Roll to Dodge the Template.
@Mahtamori is correct re 1. Explode still hits you. @ijw explains it here: http://infinitytheforums.com/forum/topic/42763-dodge-plus-explode/?do=findComment&comment=808599
The Explode skill of the Kuang Shi, occurs after the resolution of the order, when the ARM rolls are applied and determined, once the result comes in and the Kuang Shi explode the skill activates, the dodge that allowed him to avoid damage during the order is no longer applicable, so he takes the Explode arm roll either way. Am I understanding this correctly?
If the KS is exploding due to entering the Unconscious state, this is Correct. If they are being detonated by the controller, any targets would get a chance to Dodge.
Can target dodge while being in melee with KS, when KS explodes by KSCD? According to the rule KS explode in resolution, and while you in melee, you have no LoF.
No, the 'target' is Engaged and Dodge isn't a valid Declaration. This is an extremely nasty tactic and you should absolutely do this :evil:. Edir: Wow. I fucked that royally. Dodge is a valid Declaration while Engaged. So you certainly can Dodge, the only question is whether you have LOF or not. I'd argue that you have LOF to the KS you're in B2B with but not to a hypothetical other KS that isn't in B2B with you.
But in order to declare dodge, you need a LOF to KSCD, because only KSCD generates ARO. KS in this case only a weapon. So while you in B2B with KS, you have no LOF to KSCD, and you can declare a dodge, unless you have six sence lvl2 or lv1.
it is true you need LoF to the KSCD to get an ARO. But Detonate is a template attack where you place a template and see who's affected by it. So you can dodge at -3 without LoF. or as the rule example says : "the Celestial Guard activates the Explode L1 Special Skill of both troopers. The player places the Circular Template over each of them and finds that each template affects two enemy troopers. As none of them has LoF to the Celestial Guard they must declare a PH-3 Normal Roll to Dodge the Template."