Hoping for a definitive on what happens when a Fireteam made up of Oznat + her Control Device and Hungries suffers Loss of Lieutenant. Do the Regular Orders of the Hungries [which became Regular due to the Control Device] become Irregular or does the Control Device prevent this?
Right now it looks RAW as though the Control Device (automatic equipment) which only stops working when the fireteam breaks (Which LoL doesn't do) returns the Hungries from Irregular to Regular. There's no other cancellation for the equipment apart from the Oznat going Null/Isolated/etc. :)
Is that RAW an acronym for "no argument provided or given"? :neutral: The Hungries are Regular and Not Impetuous at the start of the turn. Because the Hungries Control Device says they are for the entire turn. When you get to the Loss of Lieutenant Check step, every model that doesn't ignore Loss of Lieutenant becomes Irregular. So when you get to the Order Count step, the Hungries are Irregular and Not Impetuous.
Personally I strongly believe that the Orders would become Irregular as nothing states the Hungries ignore LoL. So the Control Device flips the Orders to Regular, but then LoL flips them to Irregular. Why would they ignore LoL?
I don't think they should ignore LoL either. Who knows what RAI is but as far a rules go its whether the 'whole turn' trumps the LoL check or not. Unfortunately Isolated is psudeo Irregular but it feels like if it trumps LoL it would trump Isolated too, neither of which sounds right to me.
Problem is that there are 2 ways to interpret: 1 - Hungries are Irregular. Apply LoL. Apply Control Device - They aren't Irregular anymore 2 - Hungries are Irregular. Apply Control device - they are now regular. Apply LoL - Irregular again. I do not think we have a clarification of what is the correct order to apply.
Hungries in MAF, especially if in a fireteam, could arguably use a modified profile/special rule over vanilla Hungries. In a fireteam you have the Oznat that ignores LoL and has the Hungries Control Device. For me it would seem really strange for the Oznat to lose control of the Hungries she leads. From the Hungries perspective: If the pack Alpha (Oznat) doesn't react to a possible snacks(LT's) death, why should they? The Alpha leads, follow the Alpha, fear the Alpha. I would argue that as long as the Oznat is still in the fireteam, her ignoring LoL would/should allow the Hungries in her fireteam to do the same. At the same time, if the fireteam was hit by Exile, anything not Morat should be dropped from the team.
Compeling reasons, indeed. Also, you can field hungries on vanilla without control device, but not on the Morat sectorial (regardless of wether you want or not to create a fireteam with them), and almost all troops in the Morat sectorial are inmunne to LoL (Dr Worm, Ikadrons... being the exception).
Exile breaks fireteams regardless of whether or not it's made up of Morats. It's just that Morats are immune to the isolation part of it.
Note that as the Fireteam doesn't break, she hasn't lost control of the Fireteam and you can continue to activate the Fireteam with her Regular Order or any other Regular Orders - you just wouldn't be able to activate it with Orders from the Hungries.