Templates, CC, and Fire teams

Tema en '[Archived]: N3 Rules' iniciado por ambisinister, 24 May 2018.

  1. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    So a template fired into a close combat effects all engaged models. If a fire team (or coordinated order) runs multiple models into CC against a target with a template weapon and it fires does it only hit the troopers who walk through the template on the way in or does it effect everyone who ends up engaged? My thought is that it's the former, only folks who walk through on the way in, but I'd just like to be sure.
     
  2. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    The only exception to who doesn't get hit when touched by a Direct Template Weapon is the trooper shooting the weapon. You friends in the fireteam are not shielded from this, so don't walk them into situations where they will get affected by the template or the template will get cancelled.
     
  3. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    I don't think that's what is being asked. The (presumably) reactive lone trooper is the one shooting a DTW at some of the fireteam. The Active Turn Fireteam has all members moving into CC with the Reactive trooper that fired the DTW. If (for example) 2 out of 5 fireteam members travel through the path of the DTW, but all 5 end up engaged, does this count as hitting all 5 of them due to the clause about "firing into a CC affects all engaged models" bit?

    I think personally the answer to this should be "no it does not."
     
    A toadchild le gusta esto.
  4. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
  5. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    Only troopers who walk through the template are hit. a model can not fire a template if it's engaged,
     
  6. Sorbus

    Sorbus Member
    Warcor

    Registrado:
    10 Feb 2018
    Mensajes:
    21
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    8
    It is handled quite clear. All troopers engaged in CC will be affected, even your own (no the attack is not considered nullified):
    nevertheless you have to place the direct template and see who is affected. If some other enemy troopers not engaged, they also receive a hit.
     
  7. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    Agreed.

    At the beginning of the order, and when the attack is declared, there is no CC engaged to be firing into, or else the shooting of the DTW would have been invalid in the first place.
     
  8. MikeTheScrivener

    MikeTheScrivener O-12 Peace Kepper

    Registrado:
    5 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    2.556
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    3.509
    You can never declare or affect a friendly or neutral trooper with your own attack - be it template or otherwise. The shot is considered null.
     
    A Sorbus le gusta esto.
  9. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    Thinking about a different example for what is essentially the same situation clears it up and I believe supports @macfergusson 's and my belief:
    upload_2018-5-24_14-0-18.png
    Given this situation, with red being active and blue reactive, We'd rule that only the top 3 active models would get hit by the template, not all of them despite them ending up in CC at the end (they're supposed to be in b2b with blue reactive troop, my diagram is a little sloppy).
     
    A inane.imp, colbrook y Sorbus les gusta esto.
  10. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Right, well, in that case; "It'll only affect friendlies who are in base contact with enemies who are in the process of being hit." That is to say, it's not sufficient that the enemy model was hit during the order, but that they are still touching the template when they reach base to base contact.

    Essentially, the rules do not say that a model touched spreads it, but that a model who is in Engaged state spreads the damage to all troopers in that Close Combat. Since we know that a model that is moving isn't considered to be Engaged before the point in movement where they actually are touching, that should be sufficient rules argument to make the point.
     
  11. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292

    So we are all agreed then.
     
  12. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    It would appear so but just clarify what @Mahtamori is saying: Are you suggesting that if the active model is still touching the template after moving and reaching b2b that would mean the template is hitting the whole CC (and then is further negated because it would be hitting a friendly trooper)?
     
  13. Mahtamori

    Mahtamori Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    12.076
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    15.387
    Precisely. As long as it is not the model that is shooting the DTW, because that model is already touching the template and exempt from being hit by it.
     
  14. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    Ok. So what happens here?

    upload_2018-5-24_15-55-54.png
    First half of order is move in to B2B. ARO is shoot template with placement as shown. Second half of order is irrelevant at the moment.
     
  15. macfergusson

    macfergusson Van Zant is my spirit animal.

    Registrado:
    5 Dic 2017
    Mensajes:
    884
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    1.292
    It's best if you assume that the "Engaged" state doesn't really actually take effect until after the order is resolved. Things get a bit wonky.
     
  16. Spleen

    Spleen Well-Known Member

    Registrado:
    28 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    281
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    414
    you really can't assume that, it fundamentally breaks close combat in so many ways.

    Mahtamori definitely has it all right here
     
  17. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.155
    A trooper can't affect itself with a template, so enemies under the template get hit.
     
  18. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    I mean yes, I get that the one guy under the template will get hit. The question is what happens to the other 3. @macfergusson and I think only the one guy gets hit. It looks like @Spleen and @Mahtamori aresaying all four will get hit.
     
  19. colbrook

    colbrook Grenade Delivery Specialist

    Registrado:
    23 Nov 2017
    Mensajes:
    9.340
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    17.155
    Because the Reactive trooper is not affected by his own template, troopers 2-4 are not in CC with a trooper being affected by a template.
     
    A toadchild le gusta esto.
  20. ambisinister

    ambisinister Broken Zoetrope

    Registrado:
    23 Mar 2018
    Mensajes:
    547
    Me Gusta recibidos:
    455
    While I agree with your end result I don’t think your explanation holds up. And I’m having difficulty finding evidence to support the outcome of only the one model gets hit.

    I’ve quoted the engaged state rules. If the state activates immediately on entering b2b (and it must right? How else could you declare a CC attack?) then all 4 models are engaged. If all 4 models are engaged doesn’t the template weapon bullet point kick in? Am I missing something?
     
  • About Us

    We are a company founded in 2001 in Cangas (Spain), and devoted to design and manufacture games and figures. Our main product, Infinity the Game, was born with the ambition to satisfy the most demanding audience, offering the best quality.

     

    Why are we here?

     

    Because we are, first and foremost, players.

  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation